Department of Chemistry &
Department of Textile Engineering

International Conference on "Functional Materials: Synthesis, Characterization and Application"

28-30 November 2019 - CET Bhubaneswar, Odisha

Important Dates

Abstract Submission: November 05, 2019 (Abstract ~ 500 words, Arial Font 12)
Sent via-(
Notification Acceptance: November 12-15, 2019
Full paper Submission: November 20, 2019
Registration Starts: November 28-30, 2019
Conference Dates: November 28-30, 2019

What is the conference all about?

Functional materials represent a fast growing set of advanced materials and composites, some properties (shape, electrical conductivity, mechanical properties, color etc.) are responsive to external stimuli (thermal, electrical, mechanical, light etc.). Recent efforts are focused on ongoing innovation and development of higher performance products on functional textiles. The use of it in a medical context includes super-hydrophobic materials, antibacterial textiles and insect-repellent materials and along with ultraviolet light protection of clothing and flame retardant textiles. In addition, materials include inorganic, organic, hybrid and nano materials, soft matter and interfaces with specific functions such as adaptive materials, electronic materials, magnetic materials, and optical materials.


About the College

The College of Engineering & Technology (CET), Bhubaneswar was established by the Government of Odisha in the year 1981 to meet the growing technical man-power need of the state. It is an autonomous and constituent college of Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT), Odisha. The college was accredited with ‘A’ grade by the NAAC peer team. In addition, the college is also the recipient of RUSA (Rastriya Uchhatar Shikshya Abhiyan) and TEQIP-III schemes of MHRD, Govt. of India. The college is located in the Techno campus at Kalinga Nagar, near Khandagiri, Bhubaneswar.

About the Department

Chemistry: The department offers Master of Science (2-year) in Applied Chemistry and Integrated M.Sc. (5-year) in Applied Chemistry. The department has the laboratories with equipments and softwares to pursue interdisciplinary research activities including some advance materials like electronic storage devices, nanomaterials, sensors for metal ions etc.

Textile Engineering: The department offers B.Tech in Textile Engineering & M.Tech in Textile Chemical Processing programs.The department has laboratories with equipments to pursue research in textile and its allied fields.

Conference Schedule

Registration Fee

Indian Participants

Faculty members from Academia and R&D organization

Rs 2500 per person

Student Participation

Rs 500 per person

Foreign Participants

Faculty members from Academia

Rs 5000 per person

Student Participation

Rs 2000 per person

Industries/Corporate Participants


Rs 5000 per person

NB: Accompanying Person

Rs 2500 per person

Sponsorship Opportunities

Sponsorship opportunities are there for Corporate, Government department, R&D and Academic Institutes

Category Sponsorship Fee
Lead sponsor Rs.50,000
Silver sponsor Rs.25,000
Supporters Rs.10,000

The names of sponsor/supporters will be recorded in the proceedings of the conference and will be appropriately acknowledged and displayed at the conference and website.


Applications are invited in the registration form from faculty members /researchers /students in the relevant areas like Textile engineering, chemistry, physics, pharmacy, bioscience/ biotechnology etc. Participants are requested to send the registration form with registration fee (through NET banking: “Convernor, ICFMS”, Syndicate Bank, CET Campus, Bhubaneswar, India;
Type of account: SB;
Account No: 80172010011904
IFSC Code: SYNB0008017 )
Please note that the participation fee includes kit materials, lunch and tea for all the days. Registration fee is waived for participants from TEQIP-III institution.


Prof. P. K. Patra


College of Engineering & Technology, Bhubaneswar

Dr. A. N. Acharya

Head, Deptt. of Chemistry


Dr. B. P Dash

Head, Deptt. of Textile Technology


Dr. B. R. Dash

Associate professor


Dr. A. N. Khandual

Associate professor


Scientific Committee

Prof. A. F.M. Seyam


Prof. B. K. Behera

IIT, Delhi

Prof. B. K. Patel

IIT, Gauwahti

Prof. L. N. Panda

CET, Bhubaneswar

Prof. D. P. Satapathy

CET, Bhubaneswar

Prof. A. K. Mohanty

CET, Bhubaneswar

Prof. M. Viswavandhyay

CET, Bhubaneswar

Prof. J. Militky

Technical University
of Liberec,
Czech Republic

Prof. A. K. Mishra

IIT, Madras

Prof. R.K. Mishra

Technical University
of Liberec

Prof. K. N. Das

CET, Bhubaneswar

Prof. R.K. Pradhan

CET, Bhubaneswar

Prof. A. Tripathy

CET, Bhubaneswar